student design competition
  • winners


Thank you for your interest in the 2010 AIAS/Kawneer School of Tomorrow Student Design Competition. Please take a moment to look at the winning designs below. If you have questions about the winning designs, please contact

First Place
Propel Elementary School, Seattle, WA
Susan Butts
Ball State University

Second Place
FORMative Interaction,, North Charleston, SC
Nate Boykin
Clemson University

Third Place
"The Hive" Alternative Learning Center Toronto, ON
Tang Heng Quanh and Mario Christian Lavorato
University of Toronto

Honorable Mention
Montessori-Primary School Schwarzheide, Brandenburg, Schwarzheide-West, Germany
Gregor Schuller
Technische Universit├Ąt Cottbus

Honorable Mention
Unparalleled, Sarasota, FL
Jansel Irarragorry
University of South Florida

Honorable Mention
A Living School, Detroit, MI
Chris Simmons and Melissa Klemeyer
Ball State University

High School/ Junior High School Award
MAST Academy Elementary & Middle School, Coral Gables, Florida
Oren Andiroglu
Riviera Preparatory School (Coral Gables, Florida)


  • Russell A. Davidson, AIA
    President, Kaeyer, Garment & Davidson Architects, PC
  • Scott E. Powell, AIA, LEED AP
    Prinicipal, Secretary, K-12 Educational Studio Director
  • James Determan, AIA
    Principal, Education Studio at Hord Coplan Macht, Inc.

More Info


Kawneer  AIAS



Contact the AIAS Office to find out more about the competition or learn how you can sponsor your own student design competition.

1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

T 202.626.7472

F 202.626.7414