student design competition
  • sponsors


Thank you for your interest in the 2010 AIAS/SAGE Design Competition: Rethinking Home. Please take a moment to look at the winning designs below. If you have questions about the winning designs or if you are interested in getting more information about nursing facility design, please contact

First Place Design
Transitional community nursing center
by Heidi Dahle and Christian Feldkircher (College Graduates)
University of Illinois - Chicago

Second Place Design
by Jose Ricardo Dones Bermudez (College Graduate)
University of Puerto Rico

Third Place Design
SNF 2043
by Krizia Diaz Torres (College Gaduate)
University of Puerto Rico

Honorable Mention
by Martha Garrido (College Graduate)
University of Puerto Rico

Honorable Mention
by Jinkyung Park and Yu-Han Annabelle Su (College Graduates)
University of Pennsylvania


The competition jury was made up of six professionals representing different aspects of the competition program:

  • H. Duane Blossom, RLA, ASLA, AICP
    Principal, Todd & Associates, Inc.
  • Jack L. Bowersox
    Manager, Life Wellness Communities Development Company, LLC.
  • Kaye Brown, Ph.D.
    Adjunct Associate Professor, Evolutionary Anthropology, Duke University & Adjunct Associate Professor, Anthropology, Boston University
  • Daniel J. Cinelli, FAIA
    Principal and Director, Perkins Eastman
  • Skip Gregory, NCARB
    Bureau Chief, Office of Plans & Construction, Florida Agency for Health Care Administration
  • Christa M. Hojlo, PhD, RN, NHA
    Director, Veterans Administration Community Living Centers

More Info

Contact the AIAS Office to find out more about the competition or learn how you can sponsor your own student design competition.

1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

T 202.626.7472

F 202.626.7414