

202.808.0075

www.aias.org

@aiasor







## **AIAS Announces 2016 Honor Award Winners**

Washington, DC – July 20, 2016 – The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) congratulates the winners of the 2016 AIAS Honor Awards. Each year the AIAS honors individuals and groups for their exemplary work in areas such as leadership, collaboration, scholarship and service.

"This year we were fortunate to have a robust range and diverse set of nominations and submissions, which made it quite the challenge for our jury to select winners," said 2015-2016 AIAS National Vice President Joel Pominville. "The AIAS prides itself in fostering the development of passionate leaders, talented designers and students engaged in life beyond studio. These awards represent our utmost gratitude to the volunteers who give so much for the advancement of architectural practice, education and leadership."

The AIAS Honor Awards were developed to publicly recognize outstanding achievements by students, educators, and practitioners who have exhibited an exemplary commitment to the education and development of architecture students.

The 2016 Award Winners this year are:

- Chapter Honor Award Carnegie Mellon University
  - Honorable Mention University of Arizona
- Chapter President Honor Award Kelsey Kauffman, Assoc. AIA, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
  - o Honorable Mention Amelia Rosen, Carnegie Mellon University
- **Educator Honor Award** Robert Livesey, FAIA, Ohio State University
- 5th Year Design Excellence Honor Award Kelvin Thengono, California College of the Arts
- Graduate Student Research Honor Award Keshika De Saram, University of Minnesota
- Emerging Professional Honor Award Shawna Hammon, AIA, Design Collective, Inc.
- Freedom by Design Program Honor Award University of North Carolina Charlotte
- Freedom by Design Project Honor Award New Jersey Institute of Technology, DIY Disaster Handbook

The AIAS is thrilled to add these individuals and chapters to the long list of exemplary members of the organization. Join us in congratulating them and their hard work during a special Honor Awards ceremony at AIAS FORUM 2016 in Boston, Mass. on December 30, 2016. Further details to come.

Additionally, the AIAS would like to thank our AIAS Honor Award Jury members for their passion and volunteering their time to review the list of exceptional candidates in each category. They included:

- Jury Chair Joel Pominville, Assoc. AIA
- Katherine Eton, Assoc. AIA
- Rachel Law
- Jim Lutz, AIA
- Sadie Meyer

- Obi Okolo, Assoc. AIA
- Carol Pedigo, Hon. AIA
- Victoria Pham
- Gervais Tompkin, AIA

###

## About the AIAS

The American Institute of Architecture Students is a non-profit, student-run organization dedicated to programs, information and resources on issues critical to architecture and the experience of education. For more information, visit www.aias.org or call Natalie Neumann at (202) 808-0173.