December 30, 2019

Washington, DC – December 30, 2019 – The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) congratulates the winners of the 2019 AIAS Honor Awards. Each year the AIAS honors individuals and groups for their exemplary work in areas such as leadership, collaboration, scholarship and service.

“The AIAS is continuously pushing boundaries in leadership, design, and service, by virtue of the remarkable contributions of our diverse membership body.  This year, the 2019 AIAS Honor Awards Jury had the privilege of reviewing an extraordinary collection of submissions, showcasing individuals and chapters that each sought new and innovative ways of amplifying our organization’s potential this past year.” said the 2019 Chair, Amelia Rosen. “We were absolutely inspired by the incredible initiatives our members utilized at the local level to empower voices, ideas, and actions for the future.  I speak on behalf of our Jury when I say it is truly an honor to have the opportunity to bestow these awards on those that went above and beyond to advance our collective mission and make a positive impact.”

The AIAS Honor Awards were developed to publicly recognize outstanding achievements by students, educators, and practitioners who have exhibited an exemplary commitment to the education and development of architecture students.

The 2019 Award Winners* this year are:


  • NewSchool of Architecture and Design


  • Belén Vigil, University of Texas Arlington
  • Tommy Hernandez, NewSchool of Architecture and Design


  • John Folan, Carnegie Mellon University. Mr. Folan is now Department Head and Professor at the Fay Jones School of Architecture at the University of Arkansas.


  • Stephen Parker, SmithGroup


  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas – Casa De Luz


  • Selena Zhen, Carnegie Mellon University


  • Samantha Pires, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Chapter Honor Award, Honorable Mention

  • Northeastern University

Emerging Professional Honor Award, Honorable Mention

  • Matt Barnett

Outstanding FBD Project Honor Award, Honorable Mention

  • New Jersey Institute of Technology Freedom by Design Program

Special Accomplishment Honor Award, Honorable Mention

  • Oussama Khalfi


The AIAS is thrilled to add these individuals and chapters to the long list of exemplary members of the organization. Join us in congratulating them and their hard work!

Additionally, the AIAS would like to thank our AIAS Honor Award Jury members for their passion and volunteering their time to review the list of exceptional candidates in each category. They included:

  • Jury Chair Amelia Rosen, AIAS, Assoc. AIA | 2018-2019 AIAS President
  • Adam Gregory Fogel, AIAS, Assoc. AIA | 2018-2019 Midwest Quad Director, 2019-2020 AIAS Vice President 
  • Elizabeth Seidel, AIAS, Assoc. AIA | 2016-2017 AIAS West Quad Director, 2017-2018 AIAS Vice President 
  • Haley Evans, AIAS | Washington University in St. Louis
  • Timothy Hemphill, AIAS | Anne Arundel Community College
  • Abby Fields, Assoc. AIA | Cone Architecture
  • Alex Geisen, AIA | Washington State University
  • Tim Hawk, FAIA | WSA Studio
  • Chere LeClair, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP | LeClair Architects
  • Georges Kachaamy, PhD | American University in Dubai
  • Glenn Nowak, AIA | University of Nevada, Las Vegas

*Please note: the AIAS Honor Awards are designed to showcase exemplary efforts, and this year, the Jury was disheartened by the lack of diversity in the pool of submissions. In fact, we were unable to select individuals and/or groups for multiple categories, suggesting the need for more individuals and chapters to share their success stories in the future.  Be proud of the work you and your peers are doing, no matter how small you may think it is. In order for the AIAS to sufficiently recognize the remarkable work of our members and chapters, we need you, our passionate leaders, to share your stories with us.