March 24, 2017

The National Architectural Accrediting Board® (NAAB), Inc. met on February 24-25, 2017 and elected five new directors, including an AIAS member. Ryan Cusack, AIAS, is finishing his Bachelor of Architecture degree this spring at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT). Ryan’s term will begin with the conclusion of the 2017 Annual Meeting of the NAAB in October.

The additional new directors include:

  • John Cays, AIA, NCARB
  • Rocco J. Ceo
  • Barbara Sestak, FAIA
  • Judith Welch Wegner, JD

“As a soon to be graduate from architecture school, I am extremely excited to be serving on the incoming Board of Directors of the NAAB and to be representing the student voice in directing the future of professional architecture education,” said Ryan.

The NAAB board is comprised of thirteen members. There are three members each nominated by ACSA, AIA and NCARB. There are two members nominated by AIAS and two public board members. The NAAB executive director is ex officio. Each year, the NAAB Board meets three times to consider official business including accreditation decisions. Ryan will be replacing AIAS Alumni Member David Golden, who is finishing a two-year term. Former AIAS member Sarah Killingsworth currently serves on the NAAB Board.

Vision: The NAAB aspires to be the leader in establishing educational quality assurance standards to enhance the value, relevance, and effectiveness of the architectural profession.

Mission: The NAAB develops and maintains a system of accreditation in professional architecture education that is responsive to the needs of society and allows institutions with varying resources and circumstances to evolve according to their individual needs.