May 21, 2019 by 2019-2020 Equity & Diversity Task Force, 2019-2020 Sustainability & Resiliency Task Force, 2020-2021 Council of Global Representatives, 2020-2021 Learning & Teaching Culture Advisory Group, 2021-2022 Professional Development Advisory Group

The Annual AUD Gala Dinner Awards’ 19 marks the end of a year full of success for both the AIAS American University in Dubai Chapter as well as the American University in Dubai, Department of Architecture. This year, the Department of Architecture at the American University in Dubai has been granted the prestigious NAAB Accreditation, making the School of Architecture, Art and Design at AUD, the ONLY school outside the United States with the three major accreditations NAAB, CIDA & NASAD. This could not have happened without the teamwork of the entire school. Thank you to AUD Senior Administration, Administrative Offices, School of Architecture, Art, and Design, and the Department of Architecture with all its faculty members, support staff, and last but not least the AUD Student Body.

At the Gala Dinner Awards’ 19, AIAS AUD Chapter was awarded “The Outstanding Event of the Year Award” for their great effort, and contribution to community service and particularly the Rashid Centre for People of Determination Event. This award means a lot to the entire team (Abdullah Tahseen, Sandreh Boutros, Najah El Jaroudi, Rami Moawad, Sandi Boutros, Maya Roufail, Nour Rouhana, Marawan Tawakol, Reemas Al Masri), the advisor Professor Jose Carrillo, as well as the whole Department of Architecture at AUD. Throughout the past year, the AIAS AUD 2018-2019 team have shown great interest and success in delivering and handling many responsibilities from helping the Department of Architecture in different tasks to organizing field trips, workshops, lectures, community events, movie nights…and so on.

AIAS AUD would like to thank the professors that helped us throughout this past year, without them, none of this would have been possible; Dr. Nabyl Chenaf, The Dean of Architecture, Art and Design School, Dr. Georges Kachaamy, The Chair of the Architecture Department and their advisor, and Associate Professor, Jose Carrillo. They would also like to thank all the faculty in the Department of Architecture, Central Services, and Senior Administration who provided full support to make this year a very successful one.