February 1, 2021

Washington, DC – February 1, 2021 – The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) is excited to announce the selected individuals that will participate in this year’s CRIT Scholar research program:

Heather Lorenzo, Texas A&M University

Chafic Mekkawi, Lebanese American University

Carly Sacco, Carnegie Mellon University

John Young, University of the District of Columbia

Alejandra Meza, Carnegie Mellon University

Ramses Allende, Florida International University

Helia Taheri-Pouresfahani, North Carolina State University

Juan Espinoza, University of the District of Columbia

CRIT Scholar is a research-based program that is supported by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) in partnership with several prominent architecture firms. The program aims to support student research and will serve as an exclusive opportunity for students to receive further guidance in their own research from a professional advisor. The long-term objective is to encourage students to be actively involved in furthering architectural innovation in support of the design profession through mentored research projects embedded in academia and practice. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 grant for their research project and will be personally matched with a mentor involved in conducting research at an architectural firm. Mentorship from this practitioner will further assist them with their projects by giving them a practical perspective on their work as well as insights into working at an architectural firm.

The AIAS is looking forward to seeing their final projects at next year’s CRIT Live: Research Symposia.

For more information about CRIT Scholar, please visit https://www.aias.org/crit/crit-scholar/.


The American Institute of Architecture Students is a non-profit, student-run organization dedicated to programs, information and resources on issues critical to architecture and the experience of education. For more information, visit www.aias.org.