July 14, 2020

The deadline for the 2020 AIAS Honor Awards cycle is almost here! Get the recognition you and your chapter deserve! Submit materials by July 31, 2020.

What are the AIAS Honor Awards?

Since 1956, the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) has functioned as an intercollegiate network and representative voice for architecture students. Each year the AIAS honors individuals and groups for their exemplary work in areas such as leadership, collaboration, scholarship, design excellence, and service.

The AIAS Honor Awards were developed to publicly recognize outstanding achievements by students, educators, and practitioners who have exhibited an exemplary commitment to the enhancement of the educational experience and the development of architecture students.

How many awards are there?

There are 10 Awards that members, chapters, and even faculty members can receive! And anyone can apply! They are:

  • Chapter Honor Award
  • Chapter Leader Honor Award
  • Educator Honor Award
  • Emerging Professional Honor Award
  • Outstanding AIA Component Honor Award
  • Outstanding Freedom by Design Program Award
  • Outstanding Freedom by Design Project Award
  • Design Excellence Honor Award
  • Special Accomplishment Honor Award
  • Student Research Honor Award

Each award is a little different. Be sure to review the Submissions Guidelines to see what award you qualify for.

How do you receive an Award?

Follow these simple steps:

  1. Read through the Submission Guidelines to learn more about each award’s requirements as they do differ slightly.
  2. The application period is FORUM 2019 – July 31st, 2020
  3. All materials must be uploaded and submitted via Slideroom by the end of July.
  4. The Past Vice President will then appoint the Honor Awards Jury by September 2020.
  5. The HA Jury will then meet and deliberate through all of the applications and select the winners and honorable mentions.
  6. There can be more than one winner for each award! (Check out the 2019 Honor Award winners)
  7. Winners will be announced during the Honor Awards Ceremony during FORUM Chicago! 

How do you actually apply?

Follow these steps:

  1. Visit www.aias.org/honor-awards
  2. Click the Apply Now button – you’ll be taken to Slideroom
  3. Hit Apply Now again
  4. Login to Slideroom (Create a free account if you don’t have one)
  5. Select 2020 Honor Awards
  6. Click Begin Application
  7. Follow the steps through Slideroom
  8. Hit Submit!

The Honor Awards are here to celebrate the achievements of our members and this year is no different. We have faced many challenges but we are strong and resilient! Best of luck, AIAS!